GT Academy 2013 Status Update 1


GT Academy 2013 will allow a handful of videogamers the chance to try their luck at real racing. This is, I believe, the 4th iteration of the Academy here in the USA. More details on history and format can be found at GT Academy (the link is for the U.S. website).

But I want to cut right to the chase: how am I doing in the competition.

That’s what this series of blogs will be about, just basically following my progress through a video game. Will it be interesting? Will it be informative? Will it bore you to tears. There is a very real chance (much greater than the opposite likelihood) that I am NOT the next Lucas Ordonez.

Press conferences are held for competition winners. Blogs are written by competition particpants. So, let me tell you a little bit about what it’s like to compete in such an open ended competition.

First, it lasts a month. So, from now until July 28th I will be living in two modes. Like Steve McQueen said: Racing is life, everything before and after is just waiting around. That’s what the next four weeks will feel like for me and about 1 million other video gamers.

Well, probably not a million. Let’s face it, if you’re ranked 1 millionth after a week or two, I’m guessing your motivation to continue is going to drop somewhat. In the USA, the top 200 or so gamers qualify for a 2nd round of the online competition. Right now my full lap time of Silverstone has me ranked 1362nd in the USA and about 10x worse globally (USA based players make up about one-tenth of the total GT Academy student body). So, probably the top 20,000 – 50,000 world wide will continue to stay motivated and work to improve their times.

I’ll try to share as much as I can about the experience through out the competition. Like I said, I’m ranked (since I’ve been writing this my ranking has dropped) 1378th in the USA. That’s the addictive, problematic nature of this competition: when you’re not online going faster, someone else is online making your times look slower…

Leave a Reply

